01752 872533

About the RYHA

The River Yealm Harbour Authority is a statutory non-profit making body which manages the River Yealm and leases the harbour (except for the Kitley Estate area) from the Crown Estate.

The Authority’s function is to regulate the harbour for the benefit of all users and derives its regulatory powers from a Statutory Instrument (the Order), made under the Yealm Revision Order of 1981 granted under the Harbour, Docks, Piers & Ferries Act of 1964, and Bye Laws.

The Authority is made up of eleven members appointed by the four adjoining Parish Councils, South Hams District Council, Royal Yachting Association and mooring holders on the river. The Authority meets monthly (except for August) and holds an annual general meeting in April of each year. The public are welcome to attend these meetings but there is no public forum at the meetings, although the public are welcome to talk to any member of the committee outside of the meeting. However, first contact is usually made through the Harbour Master.

RYHA members


David Southwood – RYA: Chairman

Dominic Crawley – Mooring Holder: Vice Chairman

Dermod Drought – Wembury PC

Martyn Oates – Brixton PC

John Endicott – Yealmpton PC

Rodney Carter – N&N PC

Tony Tubb – N&N PC

Philip Parry-Smith – N&N PC

Martin Mears – Mooring Holder

Andrew Matthews – Mooring Holder

South Hams DC – vacant

Elections for Mooring Holder representatives are held every three years and requests for nominations are advertised. the next elections are due in February 2021. The RYA and Council representatives are nominated by the organisations they represent.

RYHA Business

There are two areas of information defined here:

  1. Meeting Minutes
  2. General Information